Monday Reading: Mindset by Carol Dweck

I spent the weekend with Mindset: The New Psychology of Success by Carol Dweck. It was a wonderful journey. My husband and I had a quick – child free – road trip to visit friends and I found myself reading and talking to him about the ideas in this book. There are chapters about  parenting, leadership, coaching and even how to reach that shy student in the back of the classroom. The book was recommended by within Angela Maiers’ book The Passion Driven Classroom and provides evidence for having a growth rather than a fixed mind-set.

I feel much more able to handle the students who say, “That’s too hard,” “I’m not one of those smart students,” or “Why do you want us to work so hard?” I am also ready to take on teachers who refer to certain students as “losers” and that coach who judges kids more than he inspires them! Watch out world!

On a more humble note, I have to work on how I talk to my kids to get them excited about working hard – and this book provides many useful ideas for just where to start.

5 responses

  1. I finished this book not too long ago and found to be both helpful and inspiring. I’ve become much more conscious of what I say to students while supporting them as they work. The last chapter was especially thought-provoking in terms of my own life and relationships with others. Dweck’s guide to a “learn-and-help-learn” philosophy is essential reading.

    • I also loved her reluctance to judge- I remember my parents saying that I had no sense of direction- years later my friends commented on my ability to learn my way around new places easily- my parents fixed mind set stuck with me even after it didn’t make sense anymore- it takes a lot to discard those judgements…

Leave a Reply

