Monday Reading Check – In

It’s Monday… I’ve been reading like mad, but have to slow down long enough to blog about it 🙂

Here is what I read:

  The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor – It took a few chapters, but eventually I could not put it down. I will read the rest of this series and recommend it to students. It’s Star Wars meets Alice in Wonderland – danger, action, good vs. evil, and even the hint of romance. Perfect for middle school readers.

  The Disappeared by Kim Echlin – This beautiful prose takes the reader on a journey between Canada and Cambodia. I don’t think I would suggest it for middle school – but High School would be fine – lots to think about and discuss.

The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. by Kate Messner – I really liked this book. It was so moving and relevant,  yet a really fun read. This is an instant favorite!

  Capture the Flag by Kate Messner – Another note worthy book by one of my favorite authors. Great characters, a fun adventure, and just a touch of history! This will go with my “Pre- Washington D.C. Trip” suggestions for the 8th grade.

Next week I have a few professional development books to finish and I hope another batch of books to share with students.

My kids are helping me set it up my classroom library – so excited! Last week I requested gently used books be dropped off in my new classroom – I can’t wait to see what arrives, but not in any hurry to say good-bye to summer… at least not for a week or two!

Be sure to check out what other teachers and librarians are reading at Teach Mentor Text…

4 responses

  1. I’m so glad you loved Looking Glass Wars! It is one of my all-time favorite series. I listened to the audios for the entire series and the narration is great. I couldn’t get enough of those books. I love Kate’s book, too! I’m enjoying what I have read of Real Revision so far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

