teaching takes courage

Day one of being a real live English teacher.

I set the stage last week: “You will need a book to read on Monday. I’ll take attendance by asking you what book you are reading. Bring it with you!”

For the past month I fortified myself with Twitter,  the Nerdy Book Club,  and “What are you reading?” posts. I sent out notes to parents announcing the reading challenge. I told them about good fit books and growing independent readers.

Still I had doubt… what if I have stubborn students that just will not bend? What if they just refused? What if they just won’t read?

What if I do it all wrong and the reluctant readers stay reluctant. What if the passionate readers fold to peer pressure and stop reading.

Do all teachers worry so much?

Teaching takes courage.

Second hour – I have a mix of 7th and 8th grade students. It’s the promised reading time and… they are actually doing it. They have books.

My already voracious reader has agreed to try something new – The Hobbit – she want Rick Riordan back…

Another reader pointed out that the “Lightening Thief costs $18.95 according to the book jacket, so it should be good.”

Another smiles as he begins “The Diary of a Wimpy Kid.” I can’t wait for him to get to the part about the thank you notes and the pants – it always makes me laugh.

I’m going to start reading,” The Tales of Beedle the Bard,” because it was donated by a students who said I would like the humor.

Teaching takes courage, trust, my own stubbornness… but for now all I have to do is model, share my passion, and be brave… I can do that…

One response

  1. Hi Theresa, good luck with your class! Your students seem like avid readers! 🙂 My own ten year old daughter is reading Holes right now for their fifth grade class, and she has just finished reading The Graveyard Book as well for a book club for young readers I initiated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

